Nothing Found

Sorry, but nothing matched your search terms. Please try again with some different keywords.


Established in 2010 as an affiliate of the Métis Nation of Alberta, the Rupertsland Institute (RLI) Metis Centre for Excellence was incorporated as a Section 9 company under the Alberta Companies Act on July 26, 2010 and:

  • Is governed by a professional Board of Governors comprised of representatives from the Métis business community, University of Alberta, other academia, industry and the Métis Nation of Alberta (MNA) Provincial Council;
  • Is accountable to its sole shareholder – the Métis people of Alberta – as represented by the MNA Provincial Council;
  • Sets the standard for transparency and accountability while carrying out the education, training and research mandates entrusted to it by the MNA; and
  • Has a vision of a skilled, knowledgeable, self-reliant Métis Nation.

Board of Governors

Audrey Poitras

President, Métis Nation of Alberta

Acting Chair and Ex-Officio MNA Member

Raylene Whitford

Director, Canative Energy

RLI Board of Governors

Lawrence Gervais

President, Region 3 Métis Nation of Alberta

Ex-Officio MNA Member

Dr. Florence Glanfield, PhD

Vice-Provost, Indigenous Programming and Research, University of Alberta

RLI Board of Governors

Dr. Laura Beard

Associate Vice President (Research), University of Alberta

Ex-Officio University of Alberta Member

Dr. Chris Andersen

Professor and Dean, Faculty of Native Studies, University of Alberta

Ex-Officio University of Alberta Member