Nothing Found

Sorry, but nothing matched your search terms. Please try again with some different keywords.



The Rupertsland Centre for Métis Research (RCMR) was created in 2011 to serve as an academic research entity designed specifically for Métis concerns. A leading priority for the RCMR includes the development of a policy think tank. The goals and objectives of the academic research centre include:

  • The formation of local, provincial and national connections with Métis communities;
  • Building research capacity to advance Métis-specific research;
  • Training and employing student researchers.

To date, five broad research themes have been developed for the RCMR:

  • Historical Research and Métis Rights
  • Institutional Deficit in Métis Education
  • Research and Analysis Capacity on Current Topics and General Policy Areas
  • Land Use and Resources
  • Contemporary Métis Issues

The RCMR operates under the Faculty of Native Studies at the U of A and is governed by an Executive Council composed of six members from the U of A, two members from RLI and two members from the Métis community. This membership structure ensures that the majority of the individuals on the Executive Council are Métis.

The U of A members include:

  • Vice-President – Research
  • Dean, Faculty of Native Studies (also the Chair of the RCMR)
  • An academic member who is external to the Faculty of Native Studies
  • An academic member who is part of the Faculty and has Métis ancestry
  • One undergraduate or graduate student of Métis ancestry
  • A Research Director with ex-officio non-voting status

The RLI members are:

  • the Chair of RLI Board of Governors (or designate)
  • the CEO of RLI
  • two members chosen by the RLI Board of Governors to represent the Métis community

For information regarding RLI’s research mandate, visit the Research Mandate section on the About page.

Research Reports